COVID-19 vaccine roll-out becomes largest in supply chain history.

The introduction of the COVID-19 vaccine is becoming the biggest challenge for chemical supply chains in history.

The launch of the COVID-19 vaccine is becoming the biggest challenge for chemical supply chains in history. Here's why.

In 2020, all aspects of life were affected by the Corona virus. Whether in meetings at work, meeting friends in the evening, visiting family members at home or in care facilities, everything was or is affected by the Corona pandemic and its restrictions.

Right now, in the late 2020s, several pharmaceutical companies are in the process of developing specific vaccines that have already gone through most phases of the drug discovery landscape, from structural characterization, design, chemical synthesis or recombinant technologies, to preclinical testing, to phase 0, 1, 2a, b, and even phase 3.[1]

The most well-known and completely new vaccine design approaches have been pursued by Moderna with mRNA-1273, by BioNTech and Pfizer with BNT162b2, by CureVac with its CVnCoV and by AstraZeneca with AZD1222. The latter is a modified chimpanzee adenovirus vector (ChAdOx1), which is one of the non-replicating viral vectors. It was developed in collaboration with the University of Oxford and the spin-off company Vaccitech.
Moderna and BioNTech's vaccine candidates are mRNA-based vaccines consisting of, for example, nucleoside-modified mRNA encoding a wild-type of the spike protein of SARS-CoV-2 and encapsulated or packaged in lipid nanoparticles as a drug delivery system.[2]

While Moderna's mRNA-1273 is in phase 3 drug development and approval process and has submitted an expedited application which is currently under review and approval by the US FDA, UK MHRA and EU EMA[3] - as of today, 10/12/2020, BioNTech's BNT162b2 vaccine has been approved in the U.K.[4]Bahrain and Canada.[5] The first patients have already been vaccinated in the UK.[6]

Bottlenecks within the chemical supply chain.

Since the above candidates are very promising, experts are already concerned about upcoming problems and bottlenecks within the chemical supply chain. During and after 2020 and 2021, the production and distribution of a COVID-19 vaccine will require adequate storage, transportation and tracking activities worldwide. Experts anticipate billions of vial doses. This represents the largest supply chain challenge in history, especially in light of the fact that two repeat vaccinations are favored.[7]

Supply chain and logistics experts expressed their concerns that international and national networks are not ready for the production and distribution of a licensed vaccine with such high volumes and urgency. Handling the vaccine under cold chain requirements, such as -70 °C for BioNTech's vaccine, will also be a major challenge.[8]

Current sticking points and bottlenecks within the chemical supply chain have been identified in the areas of logistics, production and storage capacity, cold chain technologies and requirements, national infrastructure, and security and corruption.

The following describes a high-level supply flow, starting from a Tier 2 supplier, through production, to the customer.

Entourage pain points within supply chains

The overarching goal for the coming months and years is to build a robust chemical supply chain with a closely coordinated, cross-company and cross-functional process landscape and a lean, fully traceable flow of information supported by modern IT solutions.

After identifying the current weaknesses and bottlenecks in the supply chain, a root cause analysis led to the following strategic improvement opportunities to overcome the current weaknesses.

Entourage possivilites for improvement

Redesigning the supply chains of the future.

This may require a redesign of the supply chains of the future, which must be characterized by flexibility, accountability, and real-time transparency. These chemical supply chains will help communities, individual countries or individual companies around the world better manage short-term crises and help save millions of lives.

Currently, companies are already testing different ways to build more resilience into their manufacturing and supply networks, even if this resilience adds costs. Activities such as diversifying manufacturing and supply networks, adding back-up production and distribution capacity, or optimizing inventory management are already in place. In addition, companies are trying to improve their supply chain flexibility, risk monitoring, and remediation planning and execution.

As supply chain risks have been identified in the twenty-first century, leaders need to build such a robust system for the future, as mentioned above. It will include a supply chain risk function that includes risk assessments, risk registers focused on probability and impact, and mitigation and remediation strategies. In addition, digital supply chain activities will be important as they will improve speed, accuracy, transparency, flexibility and cross-enterprise collaboration.

Pfizer / BioNTech has learned in recent days how difficult it is to expand the supply chain for such a vaccine. The originally planned 100 million vaccine doses in 2020 had to be halved to 50 million.[9]

Against this background, the COVID 19 pandemic can be seen as a kind of wake-up call to reconsider typical procedures, to think about alternatives or upcoming challenges, and also to consider that the whole globe is interdependent when it comes to the efficient management of such disasters. In the end, we are all patients!

References.

  • [1]a) M. S. Diamond, T. C. Pierson, The challenge of vaccine development against a new virus during a pandemic, Cell Host Microbe 27, 699, May 13th, 2020; b) T. T Le, J. P. Cramer, R. Chen, S. Mayhew, Evolution of the COVID-19 vaccine development landscape, Nat. Rev. Drug. Discov. 19, 667, September 4th, 2020; c) COVID-19 vaccine tracker, Milken Institute, November 16th, 2020; d) Draft landscape of COVID-19 candidate vaccines, World Health Organization, November 16th, 2020; e) COVID-19 vaccine development pipeline, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, November 30th, 2020.
  • 2]a) Pfizer and BioNTech announce vaccine candidate against COVID-19 achieved success in the first interim analysis, Pfizer, November 9th, 2020; b) Moderna's COVID-19 vaccine candidate meets its primary efficacy endpoint in the first interim analysis of the phase 3 cove study, Moderna, November 16th, 2020; c) AZD1222 met primary efficacy endpoint in preventing COVID-19, AstraZeneca, November 23rd, 2020; d) CureVac and WACKER sign manufacturing contract for CureVac's COVID-19 vaccine candidate CVnCoV, CureVac, November 23rd, 2020.
  • 3]a) N. O'Neill, Pfizer applies for emergency FDA approval of COVID-19 vaccine, New York Post, November 20th, 2020; b) C. Kitching, Moderna corona virus vaccine could get UK approval within two weeks, says expert, Mirror, December 1st, 2020.
  • [4]https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/regulatory-approval-of-pfizer-biontech-vaccine-for-covid-19, accessed on 10 December 2020.
  • [5]https://www.zeit.de/wissen/2020-12/corona-impfung-kanada-biontech-pfizer-zulassung-impfstoff, accessed on 10 December 2020.
  • [6]https://edition.cnn.com/2020/12/08/europe/uk-pfizer-biontech-covid-vaccination-intl/index.html, accessed on 10 December 2020....
  • [7]a) B. Gates, The vaccine race explained: What you need to know about the COVID-19 vaccine, The Gates Notes, April 30th 2020; b) P. Shukla, A. Rajput, S. Chakravarthy, How the massive plan to deliver the covid-19 vaccine could make history - and leverage blockchain like never before, World Economic Forum, July 17th 2020; c) E. Callaway, The unequal scramble for corona virus vaccines - by the numbers, Nature 584, 506, August 27th 2020.
  • [8]a) B. Murray, R. Griffin, The world's supply chain isn't ready for a COVID-19 vaccine, Bloomberg World, July 25th, 2020; b) S. D. Kominers, A. Tabarrok, Vaccines use bizarre stuff. We need a supply chain now, Bloomberg Business, August 18th, 2020; c) C. O'Donnell, Why Pfizer's ultra-cold COVID-19 vaccine won't be at the local pharmacy any time soon, Reuters, November 9th, 2020.
  • [9], https://www.faz.net/aktuell/wirtschaft/unternehmen/pfizer-halbiert-auslieferungsziel-fuer-corona-impfstoff-17084380.html, accessed on 10 December 2020.

Share Article.

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
XING
WhatsApp
Email

Persons to the article.

Dr Ralf Hess

Principal Consultant IVD

Dr. Ralf Hess studied biology at the Albert-Ludwigs-University of Freiburg, where he also completed his doctorate at the Institute of Virology. Dr. Hess has many years of experience in the development of medical devices and medicinal products and their combination, in laboratory analysis and quality assurance. The quality expert has set up, implemented and maintained QM systems in accordance with ISO and GxP for various areas of application. The customer service portfolio ranges from manufacturers of classical and biological drugs, medical device companies and vaccine manufacturers to immunohistochemical, immunological, molecular biological and serological diagnostic laboratories. Dr. Hess works worldwide as an auditor in the GxP/ISO area and has many years of experience in FDA remediation projects and the regulatory development of combination products (drug device products).
Dr. Ralf Hess supports Entourage as Principal Consultant IVD.

Newsletter.

Read more.

MDR postponed. By EU. Because of Corona.
Due to the SARS-CoV-2 pandemic, the EU has proposed to extend the ...
Qualitative content analysis to establish audit trail requirements.
The audit trail is laid down in regulatory requirements and guidelines ...
What we can learn from the virus debate.
Under the title: "La Ola - was that the "perfect" ...
News on the harmonized standard ISO 15223.
News on the harmonized standard ISO 15223.
Human monoclonal therapeutic antibodies based on plant systems for human use.
Is the next generation of therapeutic monoclonal antibodies tobacco plant-derived?

COVID-19-Impfstoff-Roll-Out wird größter Roll-out der Supply Chain Geschichte.

Die Einführung des Impfstoffs für COVID-19 wird zur größten Herausforderung für chemische Lieferketten in der Geschichte.

Die Einführung des Impfstoffs für COVID-19 wird zur größten Herausforderung für chemische Lieferketten in der Geschichte. Hier ist der Grund.

Im Jahr 2020 waren alle Bereiche des Lebens vom Coronavirus betroffen. Ob bei Besprechungen am Arbeitsplatz, beim abendlichen Treffen mit Freunden, beim Besuch von Familienmitgliedern zu Hause oder in Pflegeeinrichtungen, alles war oder ist von der Corona-Pandemie und ihren Einschränkungen betroffen.

Gerade jetzt, Ende 2020, sind mehrere Pharmaunternehmen dabei, spezifische Impfstoffe zu entwickeln, die bereits die meisten Phasen der Wirkstoffforschungslandschaft durchlaufen haben, von der strukturellen Charakterisierung, dem Design, der chemischen Synthese oder rekombinanten Technologien über die präklinische Untersuchung bis hin zu Phase 0, 1, 2a, b und sogar Phase 3.[1]

Die bekanntesten und völlig neuen Impfstoffdesign-Ansätze wurden von Moderna mit mRNA-1273, von BioNTech und Pfizer mit BNT162b2, von CureVac mit seinem CVnCoV und von AstraZeneca mit AZD1222 verfolgt. Letzterer ist ein modifizierter Schimpansen-Adenovirus-Vektor (ChAdOx1), der zu den nicht-replizierenden viralen Vektoren gehört. Er wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit der University of Oxford und dem Spin-off-Unternehmen Vaccitech entwickelt.
Die Impfstoffkandidaten von Moderna und BioNTech sind mRNA-basierte Impfstoffe, die z. B. aus nukleosid-modifizierter mRNA bestehen, die für einen Wildtyp des Spike-Proteins von SARS-CoV-2 kodiert und in Lipid-Nanopartikel als Wirkstofftransportsystem eingekapselt oder verpackt sind.[2]

Während Moderna mit seiner mRNA-1273 in Phase 3 der Medikamentenentwicklung und des Zulassungsverfahrens ist und einen Eilantrag eingereicht hat, der derzeit zur Prüfung und Genehmigung durch die US FDA, UK MHRA und EU EMA vorliegt[3] – wurde der Impfstoff BNT162b2 von BioNTech nach heutigem Stand, 10.12.2020, in Großbritannien[4], Bahrain und Kanada zugelassen.[5] In Großbritannien wurden bereits die ersten Patienten geimpft.[6]

Engpässe innerhalb der chemischen Lieferkette.

Da die oben genannten Kandidaten sehr vielversprechend sind, machen sich Experten bereits Gedanken über kommende Probleme und Engpässe innerhalb der chemischen Lieferkette. Während und nach 2020 und 2021 wird die Produktion und Verteilung eines COVID-19-Impfstoffs weltweit adäquate Lager-, Transport- und Verfolgungsaktivitäten erfordern. Experten rechnen mit Milliarden von Fläschchendosen. Dies stellt die größte Supply Chain-Herausforderung in der Geschichte dar, insbesondere vor dem Hintergrund, dass zwei Wiederholungsimpfungen favorisiert werden.[7]

Supply Chain- und Logistikexperten äußerten ihre Bedenken, dass die internationalen und nationalen Netzwerke nicht bereit sind für die Herstellung und Verteilung eines lizenzierten Impfstoffs mit solch hohen Mengen und solcher Dringlichkeit. Eine große Herausforderung wird auch die Handhabung des Impfstoffs unter den Anforderungen der Kühlkette sein, wie -70 °C für den Impfstoff von BioNTech.[8]

Aktuelle Knackpunkte und Engpässe innerhalb der chemischen Lieferkette wurden in den Bereichen Logistik, Produktions- und Lagerkapazitäten, Kühlketten-Technologien und -Anforderungen, nationaler Infrastruktur sowie Sicherheit und Korruption identifiziert.

Im Folgenden wird ein High-Level-Lieferfluss beschrieben, ausgehend von einem Tier-2-Lieferanten über die Produktion bis zum Kunden.

Entourage pain points within supply chains

Das übergeordnete Ziel für die kommenden Monate und Jahre ist der Aufbau einer robusten chemischen Supply Chain mit einer eng abgestimmten, unternehmens- und funktionsübergreifenden Prozesslandschaft und einem schlanken, vollständig rückverfolgbaren Informationsfluss, der durch moderne IT-Lösungen unterstützt wird.

Nach der Identifizierung der derzeitigen Schwachstellen und Engpässe in der Supply Chain hat eine Ursachenanalyse zu den folgenden strategischen Verbesserungsmöglichkeiten geführt, um die aktuellen Schwächen zu überwinden.

Entourage possivilites for improvement

Neugestaltung der Lieferketten der Zukunft.

Dies kann eine Neugestaltung der Lieferketten der Zukunft erforderlich machen, die sich durch Flexibilität, Verantwortung und Echtzeit-Transparenz auszeichnen müssen. Diese chemischen Lieferketten werden Gemeinden, einzelne Länder oder einzelne Unternehmen auf der ganzen Welt bei der besseren Bewältigung von kurzfristigen Krisen unterstützen und dazu beitragen, Millionen von Menschenleben zu retten.

Derzeit erproben Unternehmen bereits verschiedene Möglichkeiten, um mehr Widerstandsfähigkeit in ihre Fertigungs- und Liefernetzwerke einzubauen, auch wenn diese Robustheit zusätzliche Kosten verursacht. Aktivitäten wie die Diversifizierung der Fertigungs- und Liefernetzwerke, das Hinzufügen von Back-up-Produktions- und Vertriebskapazitäten oder die Optimierung der Lagerverwaltung sind bereits vorhanden. Darüber hinaus versuchen Unternehmen, ihre Lieferkettenflexibilität, die Risikoüberwachung sowie die Planung und Ausführung von Abhilfemaßnahmen zu verbessern.

Da die Risiken für die Lieferkette im einundzwanzigsten Jahrhundert identifiziert wurden, müssen die Verantwortlichen ein solches, oben erwähntes robustes System für die Zukunft aufbauen. Es wird eine Supply Chain-Risikofunktion umfassen, die Risikobewertungen, Risikoregister mit Fokus auf Wahrscheinlichkeit und Auswirkung sowie Abmilderungs- und Abhilfestrategien beinhaltet. Darüber hinaus werden digitale Supply Chain-Aktivitäten von großer Bedeutung sein, da sie die Geschwindigkeit, Genauigkeit, Transparenz, Flexibilität und unternehmensübergreifende Zusammenarbeit verbessern werden.

Wie schwierig es ist, die Lieferkette für einen solchen Impfstoff zu erweitern, hat Pfizer / BioNTech in den letzten Tagen erfahren. Die ursprünglich geplanten 100 Millionen Impfstoffdosen im Jahr 2020 mussten auf 50 Millionen halbiert werden.[9]

Vor diesem Hintergrund kann die COVID-19-Pandemie als eine Art Weckruf verstanden werden, typische Abläufe zu überdenken, über Alternativen oder anstehende Herausforderungen nachzudenken und auch zu bedenken, dass der ganze Globus in Abhängigkeit zueinander steht, wenn es um die effiziente Bewältigung solcher Katastrophen geht. Schlussendlich sind wir alle Patienten!

Referenzen.

  • [1]a) M. S. Diamond, T. C. Pierson, The challenge of vaccine development against a new virus during a pandemic, Cell Host Microbe 27, 699, May 13th, 2020; b) T. T Le, J. P. Cramer, R. Chen, S. Mayhew, Evolution of the COVID-19 vaccine development landscape, Nat. Rev. Drug. Discov. 19, 667, September 4th, 2020; c) COVID-19 vaccine tracker, Milken Institute, November 16th, 2020; d) Draft landscape of COVID-19 candidate vaccines, World Health Organization, November 16th, 2020; e) COVID-19 vaccine development pipeline, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, November 30th, 2020.
  • [2]a) Pfizer and BioNTech announce vaccine candidate against COVID-19 achieved success in the first interim analysis, Pfizer, November 9th, 2020; b) Moderna’s COVID-19 vaccine candidate meets its primary efficacy endpoint in the first interim analysis of the phase 3 cove study, Moderna, November 16th, 2020; c) AZD1222 met primary efficacy endpoint in preventing COVID-19, AstraZeneca, November 23rd, 2020; d) CureVac and WACKER sign manufacturing contract for CureVac’s COVID-19 vaccine candidate CVnCoV, CureVac, November 23rd, 2020.
  • [3]a) N. O’Neill, Pfizer applies for emergency FDA approval of COVID-19 vaccine, New York Post, November 20th, 2020; b) C. Kitching, Moderna corona virus vaccine could get UK approval within two weeks, says expert, Mirror, December 1st, 2020.
  • [4]https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/regulatory-approval-of-pfizer-biontech-vaccine-for-covid-19, accessed on 10 December 2020.
  • [5]https://www.zeit.de/wissen/2020-12/corona-impfung-kanada-biontech-pfizer-zulassung-impfstoff, accessed on 10 December 2020.
  • [6]https://edition.cnn.com/2020/12/08/europe/uk-pfizer-biontech-covid-vaccination-intl/index.html, accessed on 10 December 2020..
  • [7]a) B. Gates, The vaccine race explained: What you need to know about the COVID-19 vaccine, The Gates Notes, April 30th 2020; b) P. Shukla, A. Rajput, S. Chakravarthy, How the massive plan to deliver the covid-19 vaccine could make history – and leverage blockchain like never before, World Economic Forum, July 17th 2020; c) E. Callaway, The unequal scramble for corona virus vaccines – by the numbers, Nature 584, 506, August 27th 2020.
  • [8]a) B. Murray, R. Griffin, The world’s supply chain isn’t ready for a COVID-19 vaccine, Bloomberg World, July 25th, 2020; b) S. D. Kominers, A. Tabarrok, Vaccines use bizarre stuff. We need a supply chain now, Bloomberg Business, August 18th, 2020; c) C. O’Donnell, Why Pfizer’s ultra-cold COVID-19 vaccine will not be at the local pharmacy any time soon, Reuters, November 9th, 2020.
  • [9], https://www.faz.net/aktuell/wirtschaft/unternehmen/pfizer-halbiert-auslieferungsziel-fuer-corona-impfstoff-17084380.html, accessed on 10 December 2020.

Artikel teilen.

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on xing
XING
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on email
E-Mail

Personen zum Artikel.

Dr. Ralf Hess

Principal Management Consultant

Dr. Ralf Hess studierte Biologie an der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg und promovierte ebenda am Institut für Virologie. Dr. Hess verfügt über langjährige Erfahrung in der Entwicklung von Medizinprodukten und Arzneimitteln sowie deren Kombination, in der Laboranalytik und deren Qualitätssicherung. Der Qualitäts-Experte hat QM-Systeme nach ISO und GxP für verschiedene Anwendungsbereiche aufgebaut, implementiert und aufrechterhalten. Das Kundendienstleistungsportfolio reicht von Herstellern klassischer und biologischer Medikamente über Medizinprodukteunternehmen und Impfstoffherstellern bis hin zu immunhistochemischen, immunologischen, molekularbiologischen und serologisch-diagnostischen Laboren. Dr. Hess ist weltweit als Auditor im GxP/ISO-Bereich tätig und hat langjährige Erfahrung in FDA Remediation Projekten sowie der regulatorischen Entwicklung von Kombinationsprodukten (Drug Device Products).
Dr. Ralf Hess unterstützt Entourage als Principal Management Consultant.

Dr. Andreas Benischke

Management Consultant

Dr. Andreas Benischke studierte zunächst Chemie und Biochemie auf Bachelor an der LMU in München. Danach machte seinen Master in Chemie und promovierte an der Fakultät für Chemie und Pharmazie im Fachbereich Organische Chemie.
Während seiner beruflichen Laufbahn arbeitete Herr Dr. Benischke als Chemiker im Bereich Forschung und Entwicklung.  Dabei wirkte er in der Entwicklung und Optimierung von Verfahren für die Herstellung organischer Produkte und APIs gemäß ISO und cGMP Richtlinien. Außerdem führte er Laborverfahren in die Entwicklung ein, etablierte neue Technologien, arbeitete Analyseverfahren aus und erstellte Risikoanalysen. Darüber hinaus hat Herr Dr. Benischke unter anderem Expertise in metallorganischer Chemie, im Bereich homogener Katalyse und organischer Synthese und Prozesschemie.
Dr. Andreas Benischke unterstützt Entourage als Management Consultant.

Newsletter.

Weiterlesen.

Arzneimittel­knappheit in Deutschland – Eine kritische Einschätzung.
Dr. Ralf Hess, Dominik M. Aumer, Moritz Haucke und Dr. ...
European Healthcare Autonomy. Lessons Learned aus Corona.
Was die EU tun muss, um das paneuropäische Gesundheitssystem in ...
COVID-19-Impfstoff-Roll-Out wird größter Roll-out der Supply Chain Geschichte.
Die Einführung des Impfstoffs für COVID-19 wird zur größten Herausforderung ...
European Healthcare Autonomy.
Wie Corona die Versäumnisse im Europäischen Gesundheitswesen offenlegt.
Die Zukunft der Pharmaindustrie heißt datengesteuerte Operation.
Die datengesteuerte Operation ist der Trend der Zukunft in der ...