Cyber security in the GMP environment.

Every company must protect itself against cyber attacks. Especially in the GMP environment, there are special challenges to overcome.

Alongside the finance and insurance industries, the pharmaceutical industry is one of the financially strong sectors of the economy. Considering the large sums of money invested in researching new medicines, it is all the more important to protect all data from unauthorised third parties. Both technical and organisational measures must be implemented. Technical measures include securing networks with a suitable IT infrastructure or firewalls. Organisational measures include documentation and training for employees.

The 2021 State of Pharmaceuticals and Cybersecurity Report1 by Fortinet finds that an industry is rapidly losing the race to secure and protect intellectual property, business continuity and mission-critical data. 98% of pharmaceutical companies surveyed have experienced at least one breach. And about half of the companies surveyed experienced between three and five attacks in the last year (2020).

Cyber security in the GMP environment as a special challenge.

The particularly strongly regulated GMP environment does not exactly make it easier for cyber security. For example, no undocumented changes may be made to systems. And the installation of updates must also be based on a concept that is usually based on documents such as risk analyses, equipment and software lists. All efforts then result in (at least) one work instruction that describes in clearly defined scenarios how and when which updates may be applied to which systems. In addition, regular reviews of documentation and audit trails are carried out.

The attackers' methods evolve accordingly, incorporating current protection mechanisms. For this reason, cyber security in the company requires a system that also evolves and is subject to a life cycle process. Cyber security should therefore by no means be understood by companies and employees as an additional requirement. Rather, it must be part of the daily routine of a regulated IT. This also includes the sensitisation of all employees to the topic.

An Information Security Management System (ISMS) is therefore essential.

Protecting data is one side of the coin, the other is ensuring the confidentiality, availability and integrity of the data. The necessary rules, tools and processes are defined in the information security management system.

The implementation of security standards and the associated compliance with governance in the company, as well as the minimisation of risks through the use of process-oriented methods, is only successful if the following components are incorporated into the ISMS:

  • Technical measures
  • Organisational measures
  • Cyber security concept
  • Life cycle process

The life-cycle process (continuous improvement process) is an integral part of the information security management system. Security is made up of a mix of technology, measures, personnel and processes. But training and awareness-raising for the topics of cyber security and information security also play an important role in the context of a holistic process.

This means that you should audit and check yourself regularly.

An attack can pursue different goals.

An attack can have different targets and thus different effects. Furthermore, an attack can pursue several targets in parallel:

Target
Impact
Delete data
  • Regulatory breach > non Compliance
  • Tracking (product quality, data) no longer given
  • Product recall
  • Loss of reputation
  • Financial damage up to and including insolvency
Manipulate data
  • Audit trails are no longer meaningful
  • Product quality not guaranteed
  • Threats to patient safety
  • Product recall
  • Loss of reputation
  • Financial damage up to and including insolvency
Spying on data
  • Competitor opens up new markets
  • Sale of data
  • Loss of reputation
  • Financial damage up to and including insolvency
Scattering of Misinformation
  • Loss of reputation
  • Financial damage up to and including insolvency

Tab. 1: Attack targets and effects.

The deletion of data.

The deletion of data is critical in the GMP environment. Years of investment in studies and complete documentation form the backbone of a product's approval. If attackers delete the data and the process has to be started all over again, a company can quickly reach its financial limits. If products are already on the market, but the quality of the manufacturing process cannot be traced, this can lead to expensive product recalls. The violation of regulatory requirements automatically leads to non-compliance, which can quickly result in warning letters from the FDA and a serious loss of reputation.

The manipulation of data.

The potential danger of data manipulation is even higher than data deletion. Deletion of data is generally noticed more quickly than manipulation. Deleted data does not mean that the quality of the product is subsequently poor. However, the manipulation of data can have a very strong impact on the product quality. This can go so far as to endanger the safety of patients.

Spying on data and spreading false information.

Spying on data and spreading false information is more likely to cause economic damage to the company and damage its reputation. Here, too, the severity of the attack in combination with the media interest and the level of awareness of the company can lead to insolvency.

Assets.

The asset group defines which data is to be protected. This can be documents, reports, photos, but also password information or credit card data.

When choosing assets, the following questions are helpful:

  • What data is most confidential for you?
  • Not all data is equally confidential. Work with confidentiality levels. Depending on the level, the protection effort is defined.

  • What data must not be lost under any circumstances?

    Create categories and evaluate them. Data that must not be lost may be found in business/management, in the laboratory, in the research area or even in production.

  • What would cause the most damage?

    Define damage scenarios and subdivide e.g. by probability of occurrence, probability of detection, impact on different areas and criticality. Pay attention to a data-related assessment. The greatest damage occurs when what happens to what data?

  • What could have a strong negative impact on the company's reputation?

    Determine which scenarios can negatively affect the company's reputation. Classify the scenarios. Not every scenario affects the reputation to the same extent.

Derived from the answers, you receive the assets that are (particularly) worth protecting for you.
Anonymity / Privacy.

Privacy and anonymity also play an important role in the choice of assets.

            Anonymity = moving around the network undetected

            Privacy = secret data (Top Secret, Confidential)

Anonymity means that every user action is separated from the identity. Although it is possible to see which action has been carried out (e.g. an entry in a public forum), it is not possible to assign the user to a specific person.2 possible.

Privacy refers to data and its protection. Secrets should be kept. For example, it makes sense to make important business data accessible only to a certain group of people. Sending encrypted data is also part of privacy. If you load encrypted data into the cloud, the company is not anonymous as a customer, but the data is protected by the encryption and only those who have the key can decrypt the data.

In summary, assets are the data we have to take care of. They form our assets. The questions listed above, as well as the weighting of the areas of anonymity and privacy, can help in the creation of assets.

Assets
Fig. 1: Assets
Security.

Different security procedures are used to protect the assets. For example, a VPN (Virtual Private Network) can secure the connection between sender and receiver. 2-factor authentication is also part of the security procedures, as is a firewall or the patching of computer systems (hardware and software).

Security
Fig. 2: Security

Security is the degree to which our assets are resistant to threats. We select security controls based largely on the threat scenarios triggered by attackers.

Threats.

The threats represent the actual attack scenario. Besides attacks by means of viruses, Trojans, etc., phishing is also one of the threats. These threats are controlled/triggered by the attackers.

Threats
Fig. 3: Threats
Exploits and Weakness.

The various threats are collectively referred to as an exploit. An exploit will attempt to exploit known vulnerabilities and thus gain access to systems. The vulnerabilities form the boundary between threats and security.

As soon as the exploit wants to penetrate the security zone, the security measures must take effect. To do this, the security system must first recognise that an attack is taking place. There is no such thing as 100% protection. A residual risk always remains. If the exploit has successfully penetrated the security zone, it will try to break through the next line of defence. Once the boundary between security and assets has been breached, the assets are accessed.

Vulnerability.

With vulnerability, we talk about the reasons why an attack could be successful in the first place. Depending on what data needs to be protected and to what extent, the appropriate security procedure must be established. Not all security procedures are suitable for all scenarios.

For example, a computer is infected with a spy tool because no security updates were previously installed. A VPN connection between the computer and the update server would not have prevented the attack here.

The vulnerability for the infestation is thus the omitted update.

Adversaries (opponents/attackers).

Once you have determined the assets and defined the security measures, you may want to explicitly protect yourself from certain threats. For this purpose, a threat landscape is created and the adversaries are included.

Adversaries
Fig.4: Adversaries

This way you can show in detail that you want to protect yourself from hackers, for example. Hackers often use backdoors such as security holes in applications. Security patches and updates provide a remedy. This would enable you to protect sensitive audit reports, among other things.

The attack vector.
Attack vector
Fig.5: Attack vector

However, attack vectors can also be used in a completely different way:

A company notebook with highly sensitive data is stolen. A VPN connection is completely useless in such a case. The perpetrator theoretically has an infinite amount of time to access the data, since he is in possession of the notebook. Only a very strong and secure encryption of the entire notebook hard drive can help here.

The question when planning the security concept is:
How high is the impact if the encryption is cracked?

All devices with corresponding security measures must be checked regularly. Due to the constantly changing threat situations, measures taken are sometimes no longer sufficient after just a few weeks.

The added value.

The ISMS ensures that data can not only be used but also monetised within a legally defined framework. In the pharmaceutical industry, cautious trends are emerging to strengthen sales with data.

Every company that stores or uses customer data must be able to show the customer which data is used for which purpose. Especially with regard to data-based business models, it is to be expected that a functioning ISMS will become mandatory.

Other advantages of the ISMS are:

  • Controllability of the safety aspects through process-controlled procedures
  • Compliance with safety standards
  • Fulfilment of corporate guidelines with regard to compliance/governance
Abbreviations.

2FA

FDA

FW

GMP

ISMS

IP

IT

VPN

 

2-factor authentication

Food and Drug Administration

Firewall

Good Manufacturing Practice

Information Security Management System

Internet Protocol

Information technology

Virtual Private Network

Notes and literature.

  1. https://www.fortinet.com/content/dam/fortinet/assets/analyst-reports/report-state-of-pharmaceuticals-and-cybersecurity.pdf
  2. In computer networks (company network, Internet), the IP address and other measures make it possible to identify a user (or at least the workstation).

Share Article.

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
XING
WhatsApp
Email

Persons to the article.

Dirk Düsterhöft

Senior Management Consultant

Dirk Düsterhöft studied computer science at the University of Applied Sciences in Bremerhaven with a diploma in media informatics. Mr Düsterhöft also holds a Master's degree in Management with a focus on Corporate Management from FOM Bremen.
During his professional career, he has worked in various positions such as Online Media Manager, Coordinator for Systems and Databases and as an IT Analyst. His core competencies include the recording and analysis of CSV-relevant processes in vaccine production as well as the coordination of the migration of software systems validated according to GMP, including revalidation. Furthermore, he is experienced in CSV in the entire production area (GxP, GAMP5, V-Model, Lean, PDSA, ITIL) and in process optimisation and implementation of international CSV company specifications. Mr Düsterhöft took over a CSV project in the SAP environment with more than 25 key users as project manager and successfully completed it in terms of quality, time and costs.
Dirk Düsterhöft supports Entourage as Senior Management Consultant.

Newsletter.

Read more.

Drug Shortages in Germany - A Critical Assessment.
Dr. Ralf Hess, Dominik M. Aumer, Moritz Haucke and Dr. ...
News on the harmonized standard ISO 15223.
News on the harmonized standard ISO 15223.
Dr. Ralf Hess et al, published. Article on the implementation of MDR & IVDR into national law.
Entourage Principal Project Consultant Dr. Ralf Hess publishes article on ...
Progressive roll-out of the In Vitro Diagnostic Medical Device Regulation for "legacy" IVDD-CE-marked devices.
An extension of the transitional periods should increase the pressure on IVD manufacturers ...
Cyber security in the GMP environment.
Every company must protect itself against cyber attacks. Especially in the ...

Cyber-Security im GMP-Umfeld.

Jedes Unternehmen muss sich vor Cyber Attacken schützen. Speziell im GMP-Umfeld gibt es besondere Herausforderungen zu bewältigen.

Neben der Finanz- und Versicherungsbranche gehört die Pharmaindustrie zu den finanzstarken Bereichen der Wirtschaft. In Anbetracht der hohen Summen, die in die Erforschung neuer Medikamente investiert werden, ist es umso wichtiger, alle Daten vor unberechtigten Dritten zu schützen. Dabei gilt es technische wie auch organisatorische Maßnahmen umzusetzen. Technische Maßnahmen sind beispielweise die Absicherung von Netzwerken durch eine geeignete IT-Infrastruktur oder Firewalls. Zu den organisatorischen Maßnahmen zählen Dokumentationen und Schulungen der Mitarbeiter.

Der 2021 State of Pharmaceuticals and Cybersecurity Report1 von Fortinet stellt fest, dass eine Branche den Wettlauf um die Sicherung und den Schutz von geistigem Eigentum, Geschäftskontinuität und unternehmenskritischen Daten schnell verliert. 98 % der befragten Pharmaunternehmen haben mindestens einen Einbruch erlebt. Und etwa die Hälfte der befragten Unternehmen erlebte im letzten Jahr (2020) zwischen drei und fünf Angriffe.

Cyber-Security im GMP-Umfeld als besondere Herausforderung.

Das besonders stark regulierte GMP-Umfeld macht es der Cyber-Security dabei nicht gerade leichter. So dürfen zum Beispiel keine undokumentierten Änderungen an Systemen vorgenommen werden. Und auch das Einspielen von Updates muss sich auf ein Konzept stützen, das in der Regel auf Dokumenten wie Risikoanalysen, Equipment- und Softwarelisten basiert. Sämtliche Anstrengungen münden dann in (mindestens) eine Arbeitsanweisung, die in klar definierten Szenarien beschreibt, wie und wann bei welchen Systemen welche Aktualisierungen eingespielt werden dürfen. Zusätzlich werden regelmäßige Reviews von Dokumentationen und Audit Trails durchgeführt.

Die Methoden der Angreifer entwickeln sich unter Einbeziehung aktueller Schutzmechanismen entsprechend weiter. Aus diesem Grund benötigt die Cyber-Security im Unternehmen ein System, das sich ebenfalls weiterentwickelt und einem Life-Cycle Prozess unterliegt. Cyber-Security sollte daher von Unternehmen und Mitarbeitenden keinesfalls als zusätzliche Anforderung verstanden werden. Vielmehr muss sie zum Alltag einer geregelten IT gehören. Dazu zählt auch die Sensibilisierung aller Mitarbeiter gegenüber dem Thema.

Ein Information Security Management System (ISMS) ist daher unerlässlich.

Daten zu schützen ist die eine Seite, die andere ist, die Vertraulichkeit, die Verfügbarkeit sowie die Integrität der Daten zu gewährleisten. Die dazu erforderlichen Regeln, Tools und Prozesse werden im Informationssicherheitsmanagement System definiert.

Die Umsetzung von Sicherheitsstandards und die damit einhergehenden Einhaltung der Governance im Unternehmen sowie die Minimierung von Risiken durch den Einsatz prozessorientierter Methoden, ist nur dann erfolgreich, wenn folgende Bestandteile in das ISMS einfließen:

  • Technische Maßnahmen
  • Organisatorische Maßnahmen
  • Cyber-Security Konzept
  • Life-Cycle Prozess

Der Life-Cycle Prozess (kontinuierlicher Verbesserungsprozess) ist fester Bestandteil des Informationssicherheitsmanagement Systems. Sicherheit setzt sich aus einem Mix von Technologie, Maßnahmen, Personal und Prozessen zusammen. Aber auch Schulungen sowie die Sensibilisierung für das Themen Cyber-Security und Informationssicherheit spielen eine wichtige Rolle im Kontext eines ganzheitlichen Prozesses.

Das bedeutet, dass Sie sich regelmäßig selbst auditieren und kontrollieren sollten.

Ein Angriff kann verschiedene Ziele verfolgen.

Ein Angriff kann verschiedene Ziele und damit unterschiedliche Auswirkungen haben. Ferner kann ein Angriff mehrere Ziele parallel verfolgen:

Angriffsziel
Auswirkungen
Daten löschen
  • Regulatorische Verletzung > non Compliance
  • Nachverfolgung (Produktqualität, Daten) nicht mehr gegeben
  • Rückruf von Produkten
  • Reputationsverlust
  • finanzieller Schaden bis hin zur Insolvenz
Daten manipulieren
  • Audit Trails sind nicht mehr aussagekräftig
  • Produktqualität nicht gewährleistet
  • Gefährdung der Patientensicherheit
  • Rückruf von Produkten
  • Reputationsverlust
  • Finanzieller Schaden bis hin zur Insolvenz
Daten ausspionieren
  • Mitbewerber erschließt neue Märkte
  • Verkauf von Daten
  • Reputationsverlust
  • Finanzieller Schaden bis hin zur Insolvenz
Streuung von Falschinformationen
  • Reputationsverlust
  • Finanzieller Schaden bis hin zur Insolvenz

Tab. 1: Angriffsziele und Auswirkungen.

Das Löschen von Daten.

Das Löschen von Daten ist im GMP-Umfeld als kritisch einzustufen. Jahrelange Investitionen in Studien und der lückenlosen Dokumentation bilden das Rückgrat für eine Zulassung eines Produkts. Wenn Angreifer die Daten löschen und der Prozess von vorne begonnen werden muss, kann ein Unternehmen schnell an seine finanziellen Grenzen stoßen. Sofern schon Produkte auf dem Markt sind, aber bzgl. der Qualität keine Rückverfolgung des Herstellungsprozesses möglich ist, kann dies zu teuren Rückrufaktionen führen. Die Verletzung regulatorischer Vorgaben führt automatisch zu einer non-Compliance, die schnell in Warning Lettern der FDA enden und mit einem schweren Reputationsverlust einhergehen kann.

Die Manipulation von Daten.

Das Gefahrenpotential bei der Manipulation von Daten ist noch höher einzustufen als die Löschung von Daten. Eine Löschung von Daten fällt im Allgemeinen schneller auf als die Manipulation. Gelöschte Daten bedeuten nicht, dass die Qualität des Produktes im Nachhinein schlecht ist. Die Manipulation von Daten kann sich aber sehr stark auf die Produktqualität auswirken. Das kann so weit gehen, dass die Sicherheit von Patienten gefährdet wird.

Daten ausspionieren und Streuung von Falschinformationen.

Das Ausspionieren von Daten, sowie die Streuung von Falschinformationen, zielt eher darauf ab, dem Unternehmen einen wirtschaftlichen Schaden zuzufügen und die Reputation zu beschädigen. Wobei auch hier die Schwere des Angriffs in Kombination mit dem medialen Interesse und dem Bekanntheitsgrad des Unternehmens, durchaus bis hin zur Insolvenz führen kann.

Assets (Vermögenswerte).

Mit der Gruppe der Assets, wird festgelegt, welche Daten geschützt werden sollen. Das können Dokumente, Berichte, Fotos aber auch Passwortinformationen oder Kreditkartendaten sein.

Bei der Wahl der Assets sind folgende Fragestellungen hilfreich:

  • Welche Daten sind für Sie am vertraulichsten?
  • Nicht alle Daten sind gleich vertraulich. Arbeiten Sie mit Vertraulichkeitsstufen. Je nach Stufe wird der Schutzaufwand definiert.

  • Welche Daten dürfen auf keinen Fall verloren gehen?

    Legen Sie Kategorien an und bewerten Sie diese. Daten, die nicht verloren gehen dürfen, finden sich möglicherweise im Business/Management, im Labor, im Forschungsbereich oder auch in der Produktion.

  • Was würde den größten Schaden anrichten?

    Definieren Sie Schadensszenarien und unterteilen Sie z.B. nach Wahrscheinlichkeit des Auftretens, Wahrscheinlichkeit der Entdeckung, Auswirkungen auf verschiedene Bereiche und Kritikalität. Achten Sie auf eine datenbezogene Bewertung. Der größte Schaden entsteht, wenn was mit welchen Daten passiert?

  • Was könnte sich stark negativ auf den Ruf des Unternehmens auswirken?

    Legen Sie fest, welche Szenarien den Ruf des Unternehmens negativ beeinflussen können.       Klassifizieren Sie die Szenarien. Nicht jedes Szenario beeinflusst die Reputation in gleicher Stärke.

Abgeleitet aus den Antworten, erhalten Sie die Assets, die für Sie (besonders) schützenswert sind.
Anonymity / Privacy (Anonymität / Datenschutz).

Für die Wahl der Assets spielen Privacy und Anonymity ebenfalls eine wichtige Rolle.

            Anonymity      =          sich unerkannt im Netzwerk bewegen

            Privacy            =          geheime Daten (Top Secret, Confidential)

Anonymität bedeutet, dass jede Benutzer-Aktion von der Identität getrennt wird. Es ist zwar zu sehen, welche Aktion ausgeführt wurde (z.B. ein Eintrag in einem öffentlichen Forum) aber eine personelle Zuordnung ist nicht ohne weiteres2 möglich.

Privacy bezieht sich auf die Daten und deren Schutz. Geheimnisse sollen bewahrt werden. So ist es z.B. sinnvoll, unternehmerisch wichtige Daten auch nur einem bestimmten Personenkreis zugänglich zu machen. Auch das Versenden verschlüsselter Daten zählt zur Privacy. Laden Sie verschlüsselte Daten in die Cloud, so ist das Unternehmen als Kunde nicht anonym, die Daten sind allerdings durch die Verschlüsselung geschützt und nur wer den Schlüssel hat, kann die Daten entschlüsseln.

Zusammengefasst sind Assets die Daten, um die wir uns kümmern müssen. Sie bilden unsere Vermögenswerte. Die oben gelisteten Fragestellungen sowie die Gewichtung der Bereiche Anonymität und Privacy können bei der Erstellung der Assets behilflich sein.

Assets
Abb. 1: Assets
Security (Sicherheit).

Um die Assets zu schützen, werden unterschiedliche Sicherheitsverfahren angewendet. So kann beispielsweise ein VPN (Virtual Private Network) die Verbindung zwischen Sender und Empfänger absichern. Die 2-Faktor-Authentifizierung gehört ebenso zu den Sicherheitsverfahren wie eine Firewall oder das Patchen von Computersystemen (Hard- und Software).

Security
Abb. 2: Security

Sicherheit ist der Grad, in dem unsere Vermögenswerte gegenüber Bedrohungen resistent sind. Wir wählen Sicherheitskontrollen aus, die im Wesentlichen auf den, durch Angreifer ausgelösten, Bedrohungsszenarien basieren.

Threats (Bedrohungen).

Die Bedrohungen stellen das eigentliche Angriffsszenario dar. Neben Angriffen mittels Viren, Trojanern usw. gehört auch das Phishing zu den Threats. Diese Bedrohungen werden von den Angreifern gesteuert/ausgelöst.

Threats
Abb. 3: Threats
Exploits und Weakness (Schwachstelle).

Die verschiedenen Threats werden zusammengefasst als Exploit bezeichnet. Ein Exploit wird versuchen bekannte Schwachstellen auszunutzen und somit Zugriff auf Systeme zu erlangen. Die Schwachstellen bilden die Grenze zwischen Threats und Security.

Sobald der Exploit in die Security-Zone eindringen will, müssen die Security Maßnahmen greifen. Dazu muss das Sicherheitssystem zunächst erkennen, dass ein Angriff erfolgt. Einen 100% Schutz gibt es nicht. Ein Restrisiko bleibt immer bestehen. Ist der Exploit erfolgreich in die Security-Zone eingedrungen, wird er versuchen die nächste Verteidigungslinie zu durchbrechen. Wenn die Grenze zwischen Security und Assets durchbrochen wurde, erfolgt der Zugriff auf die Assets.

Vulnerability (Verletzlichkeit).

Bei der Verletzlichkeit sprechen wir über die Gründe, warum ein Angriff überhaupt erfolgreich sein konnte. Je nachdem, welche Daten in welchem Maße geschützt werden müssen, ist das passende Sicherheitsverfahren zu etablieren. Nicht alle Sicherheitsverfahren sind für alle Szenarien geeignet.

Ein Computer wird beispielsweise mit einem Spionage-Tool infiziert, weil zuvor keine Sicherheits-Updates eingespielt wurden. Eine VPN-Verbindung zwischen dem Rechner und dem Update-Server hätte hier den Angriff nicht verhindert.

Die Vulnerability für den Befall ist somit die ausgelassene Aktualisierung.

Adversaries (Gegner/Angreifer).

Haben Sie die Assets festgelegt und die Security-Maßnahmen definiert, wollen Sie sich möglicher Weise explizit vor bestimmten Threats schützen. Dazu wird eine Threat-Landschaft erstellt und die Adversaries dort mit aufgenommen.

Adversaries
Abb.4: Adversaries

So können Sie im Detail darstellen, dass Sie sich z.B. vor Hackern schützen wollen. Hacker nutzen oftmals Backdoors wie Sicherheitslücken in Applikationen. Abhilfe schaffen Security Patches und Updates. Somit wären Sie in der Lage u.a. sensible Audit-Berichte zu schützen.

Der Angriffsvektor.
Angriffsvektor
Abb.5: Angriffsvektor

Angriffsvektoren können aber auch auf eine gänzlich andere Weise genutzt werden:

Ein Firmen-Notebook mit hochsensiblen Daten wird gestohlen. Eine VPN Verbindung ist in so einem Falle völlig nutzlos. Der Täter hat theoretisch unendlich viel Zeit, um an die Daten heranzukommen, da er ja im Besitz des Notebooks ist. Hier hilft nur eine sehr starke und sichere Verschlüsselung der gesamten Notebook-Festplatte.

Die Frage bei der Planung des Security-Konzepts ist:
Wie hoch ist der Impact, wenn die Verschlüsselung geknackt wird?

Alle Geräte mit entsprechenden Sicherheits-Maßnahmen müssen zwingend regelmäßig überprüft werden. Aufgrund der sich ständig ändernden Bedrohungslagen reichen getroffene Maßnahmen teilweise schon nach wenigen Wochen nicht mehr aus.

Der Mehrwert.

Das ISMS sorgt bei entsprechender Ausprägung dafür, dass sich Daten in einem rechtlich definierten Rahmen nicht nur nutzen, sondern auch monetarisieren lassen. In der Pharmazie zeichnen sich vorsichtig Trends ab, mit Daten den Umsatz zu stärken.

Jedes Unternehmen, das Kundendaten speichert bzw. nutzt, muss in der Lage sein, dem Kunden aufzuzeigen welchen Daten zu welchem Zweck genutzt werden. Insbesondere mit Bezug zu datengestützten Businessmodellen ist zu erwarten, dass ein funktionierendes ISMS zur Pflicht wird.

Weitere Vorteile des ISMS sind:

  • Beherrschbarkeit der Sicherheitsaspekte durch prozessgesteuerte Verfahren
  • Einhaltung von Sicherheitsstandards
  • Erfüllung der Unternehmensrichtlinien hinsichtlich Compliance/Governance
Abkürzungen.

2FA

FDA

FW

GMP

ISMS

IP

IT

VPN

 

2-Faktor-Authentifizierung

Food and Drug Administration

Firewall

Good Manufacturing Practice

Information Security Management System

Internet Protocol

Informationstechnologie

Virtual Private Network

Anmerkungen und Literatur.

  1. https://www.fortinet.com/content/dam/fortinet/assets/analyst-reports/report-state-of-pharmaceuticals-and-cybersecurity.pdf
  2. In Computernetzwerken (Firmennetzwerk, Internet) ist durch die IP-Adresse und weitere Maßnahmen, eine Identifizierung eines Users (oder zumindest der Arbeitsstation) möglich.

Artikel teilen.

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
XING
WhatsApp
E-Mail

Personen zum Artikel.

Dirk Düsterhöft

Senior Management Consultant

Dirk Düsterhöft studierte Informatik auf Diplom mit Schwerpunkt Medieninformatik an der University of Applied Sciences in Bremerhaven. Außerdem besitzt Herr Düsterhöft einen Master in Management mit Schwerpunkt Unternehmensmanagement von der FOM Bremen.
Während seiner beruflichen Laufbahn arbeitete er in verschiedenen Positionen, wie Online Media Manager, Coordinator for Systems and Databases und als IT Analyst. Zu seinen Kernkompetenzen gehört die Aufnahme und Analyse CSV-relevanter Prozesse in der Impfstoffproduktion sowie die Koordination der Migration von nach GMP validierten Software-Systemen inkl. Revalidierung. Darüber hinaus ist er erfahren in der CSV im gesamten Produktionsbereich (GxP, GAMP5, V-Modell, Lean, PDSA, ITIL) und in der Prozessoptimierung und Umsetzung internationaler CSV-Unternehmensvorgaben. Herr Düsterhöft übernahm als Projektleiter ein CSV-Projekt im SAP-Umfeld mit mehr als 25 Key Usern und beendete dies erfolgreich in Qualität, Zeit und Kosten.
Dirk Düsterhöft unterstützt Entourage als Senior Management Consultant.

Newsletter.

Weiterlesen.

“Social Distancing”: The Need to keep Distance! Eine Fallbeschreibung.
Die Übertragung einer 2019-nCoV-Infektion durch einen asymptomatischen Kontakt in Deutschland.
Warum der Coronavirus die Digitalisierung infiziert.
Egal was Sie unter Digitalisierung verstehen: Corona wird die Umsetzung ...
Dr. Ralf Hess et al., veröffentlicht. Artikel zur Umsetzung von MDR & IVDR in Nationales Recht.
Entourage Principal Project Consultant Dr. Ralf Hess veröffentlicht Artikel zur ...
Ein Ausblick in die Zukunft der Generika und Biosimilars.
Welche Zukunft steht der Generika- und Biosimilarsindustrie bevor? Dieser Artikel ...
GMP: EMA distant assessments – Europe – and not America – First!
The European Medicines Agency finds a solution that allows performing ...