The future of the pharmaceutical industry is data-driven operations.

Data-driven surgery is the trend of the future in the pharmaceutical industry. But what steps are necessary for this?
The pharmaceutical industry is still at the beginning of digitalisation. Digital working in combination with Big Data technologies is the trend that needs to be implemented in the industry now. This article highlights the necessary steps for managers to secure the future of the pharmaceutical industry.

The world is becoming more and more digital.

We live in a world full of new technologies. Smartphones, online payment systems, 5G and much more. They all have an impact on our everyday lives, both business and personal. Especially in the ongoing global pandemic situation, we have been and continue to be forced to make changes and adapt quickly to these new technological innovations.

Big data is the coming trend in pharma.

The pharmaceutical and life science industries are generally advanced with their applications and technologies. For example, DeepMind, a Google company, uses artificial intelligence to solve the problem of protein folding. It applies cutting-edge technologies to predict the 3D structure of a protein based solely on its genetic sequence1. However, in terms of operations, the entire industry is still at an early stage of adopting new technologies. The main reason for this is the strict regulatory environment in which pharmaceutical companies operate.
New technologies offer many advantages, especially in the pharmaceutical industry. By using digital technologies, pharmaceutical companies can significantly increase the transparency of their overall operations. With this increased level of visibility, executives can react much more quickly to change, use the visibility of key data to make decisions on business-critical issues, and thus improve overall efficiency and effectiveness in the operational environment. Companies that collect, analyse, refine and visualise all their data will be global leaders in the 21st century and survive the era of digital transformation.
According to the author, pharmaceutical companies could start using Big Data technologies to develop methods and practical experience to gain insights into the data generated from day-to-day business. This opinion is supported by recent studies. This article will take a closer look at a study by McKinsey. The study identifies four paradigm shifts in how data could help companies improve operational transparency and efficiency2:

Paradigm shift on the use of data.

1. real-time prognostic analysis.

Most companies can extract machine data. However, performing advanced analytics with this data is still rare due to a lack of IT staff such as data scientists, data engineers and software developers. As a first step, data engineers should build an end-to-end data pipeline between machines and data storage. Then, data scientists apply advanced algorithms to understand the patterns of machines and devices. The final step consists of advanced analytics tools programmed by software developers and used by manufacturers to detect patterns and share information with other machines. Machine learning algorithms can be used to identify risks and warn users in a timely manner. With this approach, demand could be better predicted and risks identified earlier and proactively mitigated before machine breakdowns or deviations from specification occur3.

2. end-to-end simulation of the digital twin in production.

A digital twin is a complex combination of technical data combined to create a virtual technological representation of a physical process or product4. From an operational perspective, digital twins can simulate the production cycle at the level of machines, labs, factories or an entire production network. The real-time simulation then allows companies to make further configurations or changes, such as adding machines or changing the schedule, to observe performance before implementing these adjustments in the real world. In this way, plant managers can optimise or reschedule parameters to see how it affects the production line without taking a risk.

3. process optimisation.

Robotic process automation tools are on the rise to further automate and improve knowledge work and administrative processes. For example, programmed robots can streamline production management and provide real-time visibility of stock movements by automating the creation of product orders5. Quality control could use machine learning algorithms, such as image recognition, to count the number of pills in each bottle, check each pill for exact size and shape, or inspect the packaging for damage, and so on.6. According to the authors, current image recognition algorithms are accurate enough to keep up with humans.

4. intelligent storage and distribution.

Warehousing is still manual and labour-intensive today. Especially in the pharmaceutical industry, where much of the production is outsourced and moved to different countries. Digital innovations in warehousing and distribution are emerging in a big way. One of the promising technologies is RFID (Radio Frequency Identification). RFID offers, for example, the possibility to track medicines from production to delivery. Each RFID tag or marker is stuck on the product and programmed with a unique code. The unique code is entered into the companies' databases and can be matched with other unique data such as shelf life. All this information is consolidated in a single ERP system and can provide real-time information and transparency about each individual product. In addition, all data exchange can be visualised and presented to the production manager7.

Success factors and risks.

Companies in the pharmaceutical industry are faced with the challenge of digitising their operations in order to cope with more complex situations and keep up with their competitors around the world. They need to develop solutions not alone, but in coordination with their partners along the entire value chain, as technology is changing too fast to meet daily technical standards. To meet this challenge, companies should be open enough to change and must overcome the resistance of employees or organisations that have become too accustomed to the processes and tools they have been working with for a long time8.

Collaboration and cybersecurity are key.

There are success factors that are important for the change process. Companies need to start with a clear understanding of the data ecosystem and the technologies involved. They also need to have the right resources, whether internal experts or external resources, to support sustainable implementation. Working with external partners such as research institutes, universities or consultancies is key to developing lean operational end-to-end solutions, from strategic concepts to detailed implementation and roll-out. At the same time, companies should also consider the risks and concerns. The biggest concern for pharmaceutical companies is cybersecurity. Pharma executives are concerned about the risk of hackers gaining control of physical assets and hardware. In addition, ensuring data security, especially for sensitive data such as pricing, machine performance or contracts is necessary and should be considered first and foremost before starting an implementation.

Four steps for leaders in pharma towards digitalisation.

Pharmaceutical companies should start digitisation as early as possible. The earlier companies decide to make the change, the greater their lead over competitors.

There are four steps that leaders could start with:

  1. First, the core operational team should engage with data experts to explore the technology landscape and develop a deep understanding of the opportunities for using data to digitise the entire operational ecosystem
  2. Once the technology is in place, companies should define a data strategy for the next three to five years. Assess available technology and define business cases that could save operational costs
  3. First, concepts for specific business cases have to be tested. Then the results are to be evaluated and a concept created
  4. Successful projects should be expanded and rolled out throughout the company

Well-prepared companies will survive.

The pharmaceutical industry is at the beginning of digitalisation. Digital working in combination with Big Data technologies is the innovation trend for the next decades. Only well-prepared companies will be able to be more agile and proactive, more cost-efficient and, above all, with higher operational efficiency, transparency and maturity.

Literature.

  1. A.Senior (2020): AlphaFold: Using AI for scientific discovery, available under: https://deepmind.com/blog/article/AlphaFold-Using-AI-for-scientific-discovery, retrieval date 06.08.21
  2. McKinsey (2018): How data is changing the pharma operation world, available under: https://www.mckinsey.com/business-functions/operations/our-insights/how-data-is-changing-the-pharma-operations-world, retrieval date 06.08.21
  3. Exelpros (2020): Predictive analytics in the pharmaceutical industry: Key Use Cases https://xcelpros.com/predictive-analytics-in-the-pharmaceutical-industry-key-use-cases/, retrieval date 06.08.21
  4. R.King (2019): An introduction to digital twins, https://www.rowse.co.uk/blog/post/an-introduction-to-digital-twins, retrieval date 06.08.21
  5. UiPath : Automation solutions for manufacturing, https://www.uipath.com/solutions/industry/manufacturing-automation, retrieval date 06.08.21
  6. Kantify: AI Applications in pharma and biotech, https://www.kantify.com/insights/ai-applications-in-pharma-and-biotech, retrieval date 06.08.21
  7. PwC, Digitization in pharma, https://www.strategyand.pwc.com/gx/en/insights/2016/digitization-in-pharma/digitization-in-pharma.pdf, retrieval date 06.08.21
  8. RARain: Evolving Pharma and Healthcare, how RFID is setting the standard in safety, compliance and logistics, https://rfrain.itsupportme.by/blog-posts/evolving-pharma-and-healthcare-how-rfid-is-setting-the-standard-in-safety-compliance-and-logistics/, retrieval date 06.08.21.

Share Article.

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
XING
WhatsApp
Email

Newsletter.

Read more.

What we can learn from the virus debate.
Under the title: "La Ola - was that the "perfect" ...
"Social Distancing: The Need to keep Distance! A case description.
Transmission of 2019-nCoV infection through asymptomatic contact in Germany.
How the Next Generation Supply Chain is emerging.
The next generation supply chain needs not only digital ...
COVID-19 vaccine roll-out becomes largest in supply chain history.
The introduction of the COVID-19 vaccine is becoming the biggest challenge ...
MDR postponed. By EU. Because of Corona.
Due to the SARS-CoV-2 pandemic, the EU has proposed to extend the ...

Die Zukunft der Pharmaindustrie heißt datengesteuerte Operation.

Die datengesteuerte Operation ist der Trend der Zukunft in der Pharmaindustrie. Doch welche Schritte sind dafür notwendig?
Die Pharmaindustrie steht noch am Anfang der Digitalisierung. Digitales Arbeiten in Kombination mit Big-Data-Technologien heißt der Trend, den es in der Branche jetzt umzusetzen gilt. Dieser Beitrag beleuchtet die notwendigen Schritte für Führungskräfte, um die Zukunft der pharmazeutischen Industrie zu sichern.

Die Welt wird immer digitaler.

Wir leben in einer Welt voller neuer Technologien. Smartphones, Online-Zahlungssysteme, 5G und vieles mehr. Sie alle haben einen Einfluss auf unseren Alltag, sowohl geschäftlich als auch privat. Vor allem in der anhaltenden globalen Pandemiesituation waren und sind wir weiterhin gezwungen, Änderungen vorzunehmen und uns schnell an diese neuen technologischen Innovationen anzupassen.

Big Data ist der kommende Trend in Pharma.

Die pharmazeutische und biowissenschaftliche Industrie ist mit ihren Anwendungen und Technologien im Allgemeinen weit fortgeschritten. DeepMind, ein Google-Unternehmen, nutzt zum Beispiel künstliche Intelligenz, um das Problem der Proteinfaltung zu lösen. Es wendet modernste Technologien an, um die 3D-Struktur eines Proteins allein auf der Grundlage seiner genetischen Sequenz vorherzusagen1. Was den operativen Bereich anbelangt, so befindet sich die gesamte Branche jedoch noch in einem frühen Stadium der Einführung neuer Technologien. Der Hauptgrund dafür ist das strenge regulatorische Umfeld, in dem Pharmaunternehmen tätig sind.
Dabei bieten neue Technologien gerade in der Pharmaindustrie viele Vorteile. Durch den Einsatz digitaler Technologien können Pharmaunternehmen die Transparenz ihrer gesamten betrieblichen Abläufe deutlich erhöhen. Mit diesem erhöhten Maß an Transparenz können Führungskräfte viel schneller auf Veränderungen reagieren, die Sichtbarkeit von Schlüsseldaten nutzen, um Entscheidungen zu geschäftskritischen Fragen zu treffen, und so die Gesamteffizienz und -effektivität im betrieblichen Umfeld verbessern. Unternehmen, die alle ihre Daten sammeln, analysieren, verfeinern und visualisieren, werden im 21. Jahrhundert weltweit führend sein und die Ära der digitalen Transformation überleben.
Nach Ansicht des Autors könnten Pharmaunternehmen mit Big-Data-Technologien beginnen, um Methoden und praktische Erfahrungen zu entwickeln, mit denen sie Einblicke in die aus dem Tagesgeschäft generierten Daten gewinnen können. Diese Meinung wird durch aktuelle Studien gestützt. In diesem Artikel soll eine Studie von McKinsey genauer beleuchtet werden. Die Studie zeigt vier Paradigmenwechsel auf, wie Daten Unternehmen helfen könnten, die operative Transparenz und Effizienz zu verbessern2:

Paradigmenwechsel zur Nutzung von Daten.

1. Prognostische Analyse in Echtzeit.

Die meisten Unternehmen können maschinelle Daten extrahieren. Die Durchführung fortgeschrittener Analysen mit diesen Daten ist jedoch immer noch selten, da es an IT-Mitarbeitern wie Datenwissenschaftlern, Dateningenieuren und Softwareentwicklern mangelt. In einem ersten Schritt sollten Dateningenieure eine End-to-End-Datenpipeline zwischen Maschinen und Datenspeicherung aufbauen. Anschließend wenden Datenwissenschaftler fortgeschrittene Algorithmen an, um die Muster von Maschinen und Geräten zu verstehen. Der letzte Schritt besteht aus fortschrittlichen Analysetools, die von Softwareentwicklern programmiert und von den Herstellern verwendet werden, um Muster zu erkennen und Informationen mit anderen Maschinen auszutauschen. Algorithmen des maschinellen Lernens können eingesetzt werden, um Risiken zu erkennen und die Nutzer rechtzeitig zu warnen. Mit diesem Ansatz könnte die Nachfrage besser vorhergesagt und Risiken früher erkannt und proaktiv gemindert werden, bevor es zu Maschinenausfällen oder Abweichungen von der Spezifikation kommt3.

2. End-to-End-Simulation des digitalen Zwillings in der Produktion.

Ein digitaler Zwilling ist eine komplexe Kombination von technischen Daten, die zu einer virtuellen technologischen Darstellung eines physischen Prozesses oder Produkts kombiniert werden4. Aus betrieblicher Sicht können digitale Zwillinge den Produktionszyklus auf der Ebene von Maschinen, Labors, Fabriken oder eines gesamten Produktionsnetzwerks simulieren. Die Echtzeitsimulation ermöglicht es den Unternehmen dann, weitere Konfigurationen oder Änderungen vorzunehmen, z. B. das Hinzufügen von Maschinen oder die Änderung des Zeitplans, um die Leistung zu beobachten, bevor diese Anpassungen in der realen Welt umgesetzt werden. Auf diese Weise können Werksleiter Parameter optimieren oder umplanen, um zu sehen, wie sich dies auf die Produktionslinie auswirkt, ohne ein Risiko einzugehen.

3. Prozessoptimierung.

Werkzeuge zur Automatisierung von Prozessen durch Roboter sind auf dem Vormarsch, um Wissensarbeit und Verwaltungsprozesse weiter zu automatisieren und zu verbessern. So können programmierte Roboter beispielsweise das Produktionsmanagement rationalisieren und durch die Automatisierung der Erstellung von Produktbestellungen Transparenz über die Lagerbewegungen in Echtzeit schaffen5. Bei der Qualitätskontrolle könnten Algorithmen des maschinellen Lernens, wie z. B. Bilderkennung, eingesetzt werden, um die Anzahl der Pillen in jeder Flasche zu zählen, jede Pille auf genaue Größe und Form zu prüfen oder die Verpackung auf Schäden zu untersuchen usw.6. Nach Ansicht der Autoren sind die derzeitigen Bilderkennungsalgorithmen genau genug, um mit dem Menschen mitzuhalten.

4. Intelligente Lagerhaltung und Verteilung.

Die Lagerhaltung ist auch heute noch manuell und arbeitsintensiv. Vor allem in der Pharmaindustrie, wo ein Großteil der Produktion ausgelagert und in verschiedene Länder verlagert wird. Digitale Innovationen in der Lagerhaltung und im Vertrieb sind in großem Umfang im Kommen. Eine der vielversprechenden Technologien ist RFID (Radio Frequency Identification). RFID bietet zum Beispiel die Möglichkeit, Medikamente von der Produktion bis zur Auslieferung zu verfolgen. Jedes RFID-Etikett oder jeder Marker wird auf das Produkt geklebt und mit einem eindeutigen Code programmiert. Der eindeutige Code wird in die Datenbanken der Unternehmen eingegeben und kann mit anderen eindeutigen Daten wie der Haltbarkeitsdauer abgeglichen werden. Alle diese Informationen werden in einem einzigen ERP-System konsolidiert und können Echtzeitinformationen und Transparenz über jedes einzelne Produkt liefern. Darüber hinaus kann der gesamte Datenaustausch visualisiert und dem Produktionsleiter präsentiert werden7.

Erfolgsfaktoren und Risiken.

Die Unternehmen in der Pharmaindustrie steht vor der Herausforderung, ihre Abläufe zu digitalisieren, um komplexere Situationen zu bewältigen und mit ihren Wettbewerbern in aller Welt mithalten zu können. Sie müssen Lösungen nicht allein, sondern in Abstimmung mit ihren Partnern entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette entwickeln, da sich die Technologie zu schnell verändert, um den täglichen technischen Standards zu entsprechen. Um diese Herausforderung zu meistern, sollten Unternehmen offen genug für Veränderungen sein und müssen den Widerstand von Mitarbeitern oder Organisationen überwinden, die sich zu sehr an die Prozesse und Werkzeuge gewöhnt haben, mit denen sie seit langem arbeiten8.

Zusammenarbeit und Cybersicherheit sind der Schlüssel.

Es gibt Erfolgsfaktoren, die für den Veränderungsprozess wichtig sind. Unternehmen müssen mit einem klaren Verständnis des Datenökosystems und der beteiligten Technologien beginnen. Sie müssen auch über die richtigen Ressourcen verfügen, ob es sich nun um interne Experten oder externe Ressourcen handelt, um eine nachhaltige Umsetzung zu unterstützen. Die Zusammenarbeit mit externen Partnern wie Forschungsinstituten, Universitäten oder Beratungsunternehmen ist der Schlüssel zur Entwicklung schlanker betrieblicher End-to-End-Lösungen, von strategischen Konzepten bis hin zur detaillierten Umsetzung und Einführung. Gleichzeitig sollten die Unternehmen auch die Risiken und Bedenken berücksichtigen. Die größte Sorge der Pharmaunternehmen ist die Cybersicherheit. Führungskräfte in der Pharmaindustrie sind besorgt über die Gefahr, dass Hacker die Kontrolle über die physischen Anlagen und die Hardware erlangen. Darüber hinaus ist die Gewährleistung der Datensicherheit, insbesondere bei sensiblen Daten wie Preisgestaltung, Maschinenleistung oder Verträgen erforderlich und sollte in erster Linie vor dem Beginn einer Implementierung berücksichtigt werden.

Vier Schritte für Führungskräfte in Pharma hin zur Digitalisierung.

Pharmazeutische Unternehmen sollten so früh wie möglich mit der Digitalisierung beginnen. Je früher sich die Unternehmen für den Wandel entscheiden, desto größer ist ihr Vorsprung vor den Wettbewerbern.

Es gibt vier Schritte, mit denen Führungskräfte beginnen könnten:

  1. Zunächst sollte sich das operative Kernteam mit Datenexperten zusammenschließen, um die Technologielandschaft zu sondieren und ein tiefes Verständnis für die Möglichkeiten der Datennutzung zur Digitalisierung des gesamten operativen Ökosystems zu entwickeln
  2. Sobald die Technologie vorhanden ist, sollten die Unternehmen eine Datenstrategie für die nächsten drei bis fünf Jahre festlegen. Bewertung der verfügbaren Technologie und Definition von Geschäftsfällen, die Betriebskosten sparen könnten
  3. Zunächst müssen Konzepte für bestimmte Geschäftsfälle erprobt werden. Anschließend sollen die Ergebnisse ausgewertet und ein Konzept erstellt werden
  4. Erfogreiche Projekte sollten ausgeweitet und im gesamten Unternehmen eingeführt werden

Gut vorbereitete Unternehmen werden überleben.

Die Pharmaindustrie steht am Anfang der Digitalisierung. Digitales Arbeiten in Kombination mit Big-Data-Technologien ist der Innovationstrend für die nächsten Jahrzehnte. Nur gut vorbereitete Unternehmen werden in der Lage sein, agiler und proaktiver, kosteneffizienter und vor allem mit höherer betrieblicher Effizienz, Transparenz und Reife zu arbeiten.

Literatur.

  1. A.Senior (2020): AlphaFold: Using AI for scientific discovery, available under: https://deepmind.com/blog/article/AlphaFold-Using-AI-for-scientific-discovery, retrieval date 06.08.21
  2. McKinsey (2018): How data is changing the pharma operation world, available under: https://www.mckinsey.com/business-functions/operations/our-insights/how-data-is-changing-the-pharma-operations-world, retrieval date 06.08.21
  3. Exelpros (2020): Predictive analytics in the pharmaceutical industry: Key Use Cases https://xcelpros.com/predictive-analytics-in-the-pharmaceutical-industry-key-use-cases/, retrieval date 06.08.21
  4. R.King (2019): An introduction to digital twins, https://www.rowse.co.uk/blog/post/an-introduction-to-digital-twins, retrieval date 06.08.21
  5. UiPath : Automation solutions for manufacturing, https://www.uipath.com/solutions/industry/manufacturing-automation, retrieval date 06.08.21
  6. Kantify: AI Applications in pharma and biotech, https://www.kantify.com/insights/ai-applications-in-pharma-and-biotech, retrieval date 06.08.21
  7. PwC, Digitization in pharma, https://www.strategyand.pwc.com/gx/en/insights/2016/digitization-in-pharma/digitization-in-pharma.pdf, retrieval date 06.08.21
  8. RARain: Evolving Pharma and Healthcare, how RFID is setting the standard in safety, compliance and logistics, https://rfrain.itsupportme.by/blog-posts/evolving-pharma-and-healthcare-how-rfid-is-setting-the-standard-in-safety-compliance-and-logistics/, retrieval date 06.08.21.

Artikel teilen.

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on xing
XING
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on email
E-Mail

Personen zum Artikel.

Beike Lu

Management Consultant

Beike Lu studierte Elektro- und Informationstechnik auf Bachelor und Master an der Technischen Universität München.
Während seiner beruflichen Laufbahn sammelte Herr Lu Erfahrung in Bereichen Business Intelligence, Datenanalyse und Maschinelles Lernen. Seine Kenntnisse konnte er unter anderem in Projekten wie der Entwicklung eines Deep Neural Networks für ein Empfehlungssystem, der Digitalisierung einer Forschungs- und Entwicklungsabteilung und der Entwicklung von Business Intelligence für Supply Chain erweitern und vertiefen. Zu seinen Kernkompetenzen zählen Big Data, Machine Learning, Process Mining und Data Analytics.
Beike Lu unterstützt Entourage als Management Consultant.

Newsletter.

Weiterlesen.

Die Welt reagiert. Auf die Coronavirus Pandemie. Blogbeitrag von Dr. Ralf Hess.
Der promovierte Biologe und Mitglied der Entourage Task Force, Dr. ...
COVID-19: „Renaissance“ der Small Molecules.
Die Forschung nach einem Medikament gegen SARS-CoV-2 lässt die Small ...
„SOCIAL DISTANCING“ – a “lesson learned” or a “learning lesson”?
Die “Corona-Krise“ fordert harte Maßnahmen. Diese beinhalten sogenannte nicht-pharmazeutische Interventionen, ...
Repurposing von Medikamenten gegen SARS-CoV-2.
Neben der Entwicklung von neuen Medikamenten gegen das Coronavirus wird ...
Warum der Coronavirus die Digitalisierung infiziert.
Egal was Sie unter Digitalisierung verstehen: Corona wird die Umsetzung ...