How the Next Generation Supply Chain is emerging.

The next-generation supply chain needs not only digital solutions, but also change management and the will to transform.

Based on our recent diagnosis of several companies' supply chain organisations, our management consulting team has found that most companies have reasonably reliable supply chain functions. Of course, not all of them are state-of-the-art or represent the best-in-class benchmark, but they have a solid, satisfactory set-up in terms of processes, technologies, capabilities and resources. It is worth noting that it is not that easy to always be close to the latest trends and technologies. Nowadays, the environment is changing with extraordinary speed due to new regulations, consumer types, customer needs or the number of strong competitors. And these are just a few examples.

In order to belong to the industry best practice companies, organizations need to turn their supply chain function into a true competitive weapon. To use a nice, best-describing metaphor next generation supply chains need to be a kind of speed boat: fast, flexible, responsive, and as robust as possible to stand the long run. Big tanker ships are too stolid and often hinder themselves by their own complexity, long communication channels, multiple sub-groups and sometimes even get stuck when they try to turn. Best example is the huge container vessel Ever Given which has blocked the Suez Canal last year around March 2021.

But back to business: The list of typical issues and vulnerabilities is long and includes for example capacity constraints, margin pressure, application of latest digital technologies, the alignment of supply chain capabilities with strategic goals, third-party management or CDMO collaboration and many others.

However, the overall goals of each supply chain function are very concrete and encompass often the following four categories. 1.) Acceleration of revenue growth, 2.) Client maintenance and relationship building, 3.) Identification and unlock of savings, 4.) Minimization of risks and increase of reliability.

The four overall Goals of Supply Chain Organizations.

Supply chains organisation 2
Figure 1: Four overall Goals of Supply Chain Organizations.

Clearly defined goals are good as a first step, but do not bring benefits without further elaboration and subsequent implementation. The end-to-end process from suppliers at one end to customers at the other has many steps where errors, delays, mismatches, poor communication, missed opportunities and unnecessary costs can occur. Waiting is not an option here. Opportunities for improvement in all relevant departments must be identified, prioritised and initiated. From product development to regulatory approval to market launch. Each individual function has its own pain points waiting to be resolved or at least sufficiently mitigated.

Opportunities for Improvement across most Functions in the Supply Chain.

Supply chain improvement opportunities
Figure 2: Improvement opportunities for most functions within a supply chain
As one the most effective enablers digital technologies and solutions have been identified causing the difference between a reasonable working supply chain and a next generation supply chain organization – a supply chain 4.0. Examples for such digital levers are end-to-end transparency including real-time performance management, artificial intelligence and advanced analytics, automated process sequences and reporting as well as next generation employees.
Selected examples of digital Enablers and Improvement Levers.

Figure 3: Examples for digital Enablers and Levers in the Supply Chain.

Having a list of digital solutions is good to start with. Nevertheless, the most critical aspect on the one hand side and most powerful tool on the other is being ready for change. In a fast moving and highly dynamic world the only constant you can expect is change. Therefore, it is crucial not to be afraid of changes, modifications, ideas, or upcoming technologies. The attributes of a visionary supply chain 2030plus can be summarized as the following: lean, responsive, highly flexible but at the same time robust, digitally enabled and data driven. Furthermore, advanced analytics, trending and scenario visualization are going to be used as drivers for decision making. 

Selected statements of multiple key stakeholders across a range of supply chain organizations show the necessity for such a change and the willingness of the majority of people to invest time and effort on such a future-oriented and fully cross-functional project.

Selected Statements - From Pain Points to Possibilities for Improvement.

How the next generation supply chain is emerging.
Figure 4: Stakeholder Statements - from Pain Points to Opportunities for Improvement.

With reference to above-listed pain points or bottlenecks, the most frequently detected weaknesses of supply chain functions are within the following factors: Globalization, trend towards customization, political and economic uncertainty, disruptive business models, innovative technologies e.g., AI, 3D printing, robotics, Internet of Things and increasing customer requirements.

Within sales and supply chain organizations demand management has been identified as one of the most critical pain points in terms of transparency and performance. Demand planning usually happens on a local, country specific level to ensure proximity to the corresponding market. The sales and operations planning (S&OP) process steps hereby represents an important function that has got large impact on the overall business processes and subsequent value chain activities. As a second major topic of interest the necessity of upgrades within the supply chain planning IT systems have been detected.

A representative survey by Roland Berger GmbH on Supply Chain 4.0 – super charge your supply chain planning performance, in February 2018, delivers some very interesting insights.

The Companies' Supply Chain Performance and Setup.

Supply chain performance and setup
Figure 6: Standardization drives the Supply Chain Performance.

Standardization drives Supply Chain Performance.

Standardisation supply chain performance
Figure 6: Standardisation promotes supply chain performance.
Figure 6: Standardisation promotes supply chain performance.

In this context, and to improve the majority of supply chain organizations, the approach of having an integrated planning and execution instead of a strictly step-by-step process landscape can provide a range of benefits. At least five categories can be improved by a large extent.

The digitalised enabled Supply Chain Ecosystem versus traditional and linear Supply Chain Setups: Make the Difference through Digitization.

Digital supply chain 1
Figure 7: Digitally enabled Supply Chain Ecosystem vs. traditional, liner Supply Chains.

Considering all above-mentioned possibilities to transfer current, reasonably performing supply chains into a next generation digitally enabled supply function, one single hurdle will always be present. The willingness for change!

We’ve already wrote it multiple articles and the term “change management” seems already to be overused due to its strong presence in almost each single larger project, transformation, or important management meeting. But to be really honest, it will not work without a sustainable change management and transformation approach. People need to have charismatic role models, they need to believe in a company’s vision, mission, and strategy, in the “why” something needs to be changed and indeed, people need to support in getting trained throughout the journey. They must be equipped with the right tools, processes and have to learn how to use them. Finally, such a tough journey always must be promoted by quick wins and positive reinforcement. If all these important things are being underestimated, employees will either consider the change as a kind of threat or will not be committed or convinced any more during a certain point of time within the process.

Share Article.

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
XING
WhatsApp
Email

Newsletter.

Read more.

A look into the future of generics and biosimilars.
What is the future for the generics and biosimilars industry? This article ...
"SOCIAL DISTANCING" - a "lesson learned" or a "learning lesson"?
The "Corona crisis" calls for tough measures. These include so-called non-pharmaceutical interventions, ...
GMP: EMA distant assessments - Europe - and not America - First!
The European Medicines Agency finds a solution that allows performing ...
The future of the pharmaceutical industry is data-driven operations.
Data-driven surgery is the trend of the future in ...
Progressive roll-out of the In Vitro Diagnostic Medical Device Regulation for "legacy" IVDD-CE-marked devices.
An extension of the transitional periods should increase the pressure on IVD manufacturers ...

Wie die Supply Chain der nächsten Generation entsteht.

Die Supply Chain der nächsten Generation braucht nicht nur digitale Lösungen, sondern auch Change Management und Willen zur Transformation.

Auf der Grundlage unserer jüngsten Diagnose der Lieferkettenorganisationen mehrerer Unternehmen hat unser Managementberatungsteam festgestellt, dass die meisten Unternehmen über einigermaßen zuverlässige Lieferkettenfunktionen verfügen. Natürlich sind nicht alle von ihnen auf dem neuesten Stand der Technik oder stellen den Best-in-Class-Benchmark dar, aber sie verfügen über eine solide, zufriedenstellende Einrichtung in Bezug auf Prozesse, Technologien, Fähigkeiten und Ressourcen. Es ist erwähnenswert, dass es gar nicht so einfach ist, immer in der Nähe der neuesten Trends und Technologien zu sein. Heutzutage verändert sich das Umfeld mit außerordentlicher Geschwindigkeit durch neue Vorschriften, Verbrauchertypen, Kundenbedürfnisse oder die Anzahl starker Wettbewerber. Und dies sind nur einige Beispiele.

Um zu den Best-Practice-Unternehmen der Branche zu gehören, müssen Unternehmen ihre Lieferkettenfunktion in eine echte Wettbewerbswaffe verwandeln. Um eine nette, am besten beschreibende Metapher zu verwenden, müssen Lieferketten der nächsten Generation eine Art Schnellboot sein: schnell, flexibel, reaktionsschnell und so robust wie möglich, um langfristig zu bestehen. Große Tankerschiffe sind zu schwerfällig und behindern sich oft selbst durch ihre eigene Komplexität, lange Kommunikationswege, mehrere Untergruppen und bleiben manchmal sogar stecken, wenn sie versuchen zu wenden. Bestes Beispiel ist das riesige Containerschiff Ever Given, das letztes Jahr Ende März 2021 den Suezkanal blockiert hat.

Doch zurück zum Geschäft: Die Liste typischer Probleme und Schwachstellen ist lang und umfasst beispielsweise Kapazitätsengpässe, Margendruck, die Anwendung neuester digitaler Technologien, die Ausrichtung der Lieferkettenkapazitäten auf strategische Ziele, das Management von Drittanbietern oder die Zusammenarbeit mit CDMOs und vieles mehr.

Die Gesamtziele jeder Lieferkettenfunktion sind jedoch sehr konkret und umfassen häufig die folgenden vier Kategorien. 1.) Beschleunigung des Umsatzwachstums, 2.) Kundenpflege und Beziehungsaufbau, 3.) Identifizierung und Erschließung von Einsparungen, 4.) Minimierung von Risiken und Erhöhung der Zuverlässigkeit.

Die vier übergreifenden Ziele von Lieferketten-Organisationen.

Die vier übergreifenden ziele von lieferketten-organisationen.
Abbildung 1: Vier allgemeine Ziele von Lieferkettenorganisationen.

Klar definierte Ziele sind als erster Schritt gut, bringen aber ohne weitere Ausarbeitung und anschließende Umsetzung keine Vorteile. Der durchgängige Prozess von den Lieferanten am einen Ende bis zu den Kunden am anderen Ende hat viele Schritte, in denen Fehler, Verzögerungen, Fehlanpassungen, schlechte Kommunikation, verpasste Chancen und unnötige Kosten auftreten können. Abwarten ist hier keine Option. Verbesserungsmöglichkeiten in allen relevanten Abteilungen müssen identifiziert, priorisiert und eingeleitet werden. Von der Produktentwicklung über die Zulassung bis zur Markteinführung. Jede einzelne Funktion hat ihre eigenen Schmerzpunkte, die darauf warten, gelöst oder zumindest ausreichend entschärft zu werden.

Verbesserungsmöglichkeiten für die meisten Funktionen in der Lieferkette.

Verbesserungen supply chain
Abbildung 2: Verbesserungsmöglichkeiten für die meisten Funktionen innerhalb einer Lieferkette
Als einer der effektivsten Enabler wurden digitale Technologien und Lösungen identifiziert, die den Unterschied zwischen einer vernünftig funktionierenden Lieferkette und einer Lieferkettenorganisation der nächsten Generation – einer Lieferkette 4.0 – ausmachen. Beispiele für solche digitalen Hebel sind End-to-End-Transparenz einschließlich Echtzeit-Performance-Management, künstliche Intelligenz und fortschrittliche Analytik, automatisierte Prozessabläufe und Berichterstattung sowie Mitarbeiter der nächsten Generation.
Ausgewählte Beispiele für digitale Befähiger und Verbesserungshebel.

Abbildung 3: Beispiele für digitale Befähiger und Hebel in der Lieferkette.

Eine Liste digitaler Lösungen zu haben, ist für den Anfang gut. Der kritischste Aspekt auf der einen Seite und das mächtigste Werkzeug auf der anderen Seite ist jedoch die Bereitschaft zum Wandel. In einer schnelllebigen und hochdynamischen Welt ist die einzige Konstante, die man erwarten kann, der Wandel. Deshalb ist es wichtig, keine Angst vor Veränderungen, Änderungen, Ideen oder neuen Technologien zu haben. Die Attribute einer visionären Lieferkette 2030plus lassen sich wie folgt zusammenfassen: schlank, reaktionsschnell, hochflexibel und gleichzeitig robust, digital und datengesteuert. Darüber hinaus werden fortschrittliche Analysen, Trendanalysen und Szenariovisualisierung als Treiber für die Entscheidungsfindung eingesetzt werden.

Ausgewählte Aussagen mehrerer wichtiger Stakeholder in einer Reihe von Supply-Chain-Organisationen zeigen die Notwendigkeit eines solchen Wandels und die Bereitschaft der Mehrheit der Menschen, Zeit und Mühe in ein solches zukunftsorientiertes und funktionsübergreifendes Projekt zu investieren.

Ausgewählte Statements - Von Schmerzpunkten zu Verbesserungsmöglichkeiten.

Statements de
Abbildung 4: Aussagen der Interessengruppen - von Schmerzpunkten zu Verbesserungsmöglichkeiten.

In Bezug auf die oben aufgeführten Schmerzpunkte oder Engpässe liegen die am häufigsten festgestellten Schwächen der Lieferkettenfunktionen in den folgenden Faktoren: Globalisierung, Trend zur Individualisierung, politische und wirtschaftliche Unsicherheit, disruptive Geschäftsmodelle, innovative Technologien, z. B. KI, 3D-Druck, Robotik, Internet der Dinge und steigende Kundenanforderungen.

Innerhalb von Vertriebs- und Lieferkettenorganisationen hat sich die Nachfragesteuerung als einer der kritischsten Punkte in Bezug auf Transparenz und Leistung erwiesen. Die Bedarfsplanung erfolgt in der Regel auf lokaler, länderspezifischer Ebene, um die Nähe zum jeweiligen Markt zu gewährleisten. Die Prozessschritte der Absatz- und Produktionsplanung (S&OP) stellen dabei eine wichtige Funktion dar, die einen großen Einfluss auf die gesamten Geschäftsprozesse und die nachfolgenden Aktivitäten der Wertschöpfungskette hat. Als zweites wichtiges Thema wurde die Notwendigkeit von Upgrades innerhalb der IT-Systeme für die Lieferkettenplanung erkannt.

Eine repräsentative Umfrage der Roland Berger GmbH zum Thema „Supply Chain 4.0 – super charge your supply chain planning performance“, die im Februar 2018 durchgeführt wurde, liefert einige sehr interessante Erkenntnisse.

Leistung und Aufbau der Lieferkette der Unternehmen.

Supply chain performance and setup
Abbildung 5: Leistung und Aufbau der Lieferkette.

Standardisierung fördert die Leistung der Lieferkette.

Standardisierung supply chain performance
Abbildung 6: Standardisierung fördert die Leistung der Lieferkette.
Abbildung 6: Standardisierung fördert die Leistung der Lieferkette.

In diesem Zusammenhang und zur Verbesserung der meisten Lieferkettenorganisationen kann der Ansatz einer integrierten Planung und Ausführung anstelle einer streng schrittweisen Prozesslandschaft eine Reihe von Vorteilen bieten. Mindestens fünf Kategorien können in hohem Maße verbessert werden.

Das digitalisierte Supply Chain Ecosystem im Vergleich zu traditionellen und linearen Supply Chain Setups: Mache den Unterschied durch Digitalisierung.

Digitale supply chain 1
Abbildung 7: Digitales Ökosystem der Lieferkette im Vergleich zu traditionellen, reinen Lieferketten.

In Anbetracht der oben erwähnten Möglichkeiten zur Überführung aktueller, einigermaßen leistungsfähiger Lieferketten in eine digital gestützte Lieferfunktion der nächsten Generation wird eine einzige Hürde immer vorhanden sein. Die Bereitschaft zur Veränderung!

Wir haben bereits mehrere Artikel darüber geschrieben, und der Begriff „Change Management“ scheint bereits überstrapaziert zu sein, da er in fast jedem größeren Projekt, jeder Umstrukturierung und jedem wichtigen Management-Meeting präsent ist. Aber um ehrlich zu sein, wird es ohne einen nachhaltigen Change Management- und Transformationsansatz nicht funktionieren. Die Menschen brauchen charismatische Vorbilder, sie müssen an die Vision, den Auftrag und die Strategie eines Unternehmens glauben, an das „Warum“, warum etwas geändert werden muss, und sie brauchen Unterstützung bei der Schulung während des gesamten Prozesses. Sie müssen mit den richtigen Werkzeugen und Prozessen ausgestattet werden und lernen, wie man sie einsetzt. Und schließlich muss ein solch schwieriger Weg immer durch schnelle Erfolge und positive Verstärkung gefördert werden. Wenn all diese wichtigen Dinge unterschätzt werden, werden die Mitarbeiter den Wandel entweder als eine Art Bedrohung ansehen oder zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt des Prozesses nicht mehr engagiert oder überzeugt sein.

Artikel teilen.

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on xing
XING
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on email
E-Mail

Personen zum Artikel.

Dr. Andreas Benischke

Senior Management Consultant

Dr. Andreas Benischke studierte zunächst Chemie und Biochemie auf Bachelor an der LMU in München. Danach machte seinen Master in Chemie und promovierte an der Fakultät für Chemie und Pharmazie im Fachbereich Organische Chemie.
Während seiner beruflichen Laufbahn arbeitete Herr Dr. Benischke als Chemiker im Bereich Forschung und Entwicklung.  Dabei wirkte er in der Entwicklung und Optimierung von Verfahren für die Herstellung organischer Produkte und APIs gemäß ISO und cGMP Richtlinien. Außerdem führte er Laborverfahren in die Entwicklung ein, etablierte neue Technologien, arbeitete Analyseverfahren aus und erstellte Risikoanalysen. Darüber hinaus hat Herr Dr. Benischke unter anderem Expertise in metallorganischer Chemie, im Bereich homogener Katalyse und organischer Synthese und Prozesschemie.
Dr. Andreas Benischke unterstützt Entourage als Senior Management Consultant.

Newsletter.

Weiterlesen.

Beirat Günther Schönrich. Zu steigenden Infektionszahlen im Herbst.
Der führende Virologe und Entourage Beirat Prof. Dr. Günther Schönrich ...
Entourage expandiert. Mit neuen Mitarbeitern. In Pharma und MedTec.
Entourage begrüßt mit Arzu Nazar und Jana Hofmann zwei neue Mitarbeiterinnen ...
MDR verschoben. Durch EU. Wegen Corona.
Bedingt durch die SARS-CoV-2-Pandemie hat die EU vorgeschlagen, den Geltungsbeginn ...
Ein Ausblick in die Zukunft der Generika und Biosimilars.
Welche Zukunft steht der Generika- und Biosimilarsindustrie bevor? Dieser Artikel ...
Entourage begrüßt. Drei neue Consultants. In Pharma.
Das Entourage Pharma Team begrüßt drei neue Mitarbeiterinnen im Münchner ...